Laughing Underwater

And Seven Other Stories

by David White



Book Details

Language :
Publication Date : 11/13/2007

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 247
ISBN : 9781425768881

About the Book

Shadow Motel gives an account of the last few days in the life of an unwanted girl. Laughing Underwater is a diary written by Jennifer who discovers wonder and death all too soon. Kisses recounts a woman’s thoughts as she approaches forty and meditates on past loves and the loss of her mother. Oppenheimer’s Atomic Bride occurs in the months before the creation of the atomic bomb. Oppenheimer is visited by a destructive and creative ‘spirit’ as a femme fatale out of a detective novel. An American Pope, The Perfumed Monster, Johnny Visits the Ranch and My Life Among the Cannibals round out the number of stories to eight . . .

About the Author

Words have their own lives independent from their function as describers of ‘real’ worlds. They hold time and place but also can help us imagine new worlds. They preserve our experience against the dismantling force of death ... This is why I’m fascinated with words. As well as a writer, I am a painter and a poet. I teach college art and film classes and work at a variety of tasks looking for satisfaction.